The contest is over.  The winner is chosen.
I sit here reading over posts on blogs and on the Facebook pages of some of the blog owners and I start to get this eerie feeling deep in my core.  I will explain this in a second.
First let me over congratulations to Mrs. B the author of Confessions of a Pagan Soccer Mom for her being voted the top faith blog in the Circle of Moms website.
I would also like to offer my congratulations to Woman Living Well, I Take Joy, A Pagan Mom Blog, A Holy Experience, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home, Witch Mom: Parenting by the Light of the Moon, Tales of a Kitchen Witch, Hearth-n-home, who round out the top ten.  Well done to the remaining 15 blogs who also made the top 25 blogs; may this serve to further respect and knowledge between people and their beliefs.
Now for that eerie feeling.
It mostly came from reading the Facebook postings I found on some of the Facebook pages of the blog owners.  I am going to try to explain my thoughts as easy as I can.
The voting was for the top 25 Faith Blog by Mothers.  The voting should have been done based on how well the blog author reflected her faith in her blog postings, or as the website says; “Faith is all around us, and it comes in many different forms. This group of exceptional moms nurtures both their families and their faiths to create homes filled with love.”  I think that was lost on everyone as the fervor grew over the fact that Pagan faith blogs were being allowed in the list.
I draw this conclusion based on the postings on Like a Warm Cup of Coffee’s Facebook Page.  I counted 20 posting asking for votes for the blog owner’s blog and other Christian blogs.  On Woman Living Well Facebook page there were a few similar posts.  I found similar posts on some of the Pagan pages but those were very selective and done by the blog’s owner.  On Confessions of a Pagan Soccer Mom her Facebook page is filled with news postings and links to other interesting information with only a slight mention of the voting.  Is this what the ‘contest’ was designed for?  I can not answer that questions and I leave it for you to find your answer.
So I sit here and I think…why did I vote?  I voted because I believe that Mrs. B and Angela both represent their faith within the postings on their blogs in some fashion.  I am also guilty of blindly voting for other Pagan blogs because of the fervor and I wonder how many other ‘readers’ have done the same thing on both sides of the faith debate.  Not voting because they have read the blogs but because they were told to or asked to do so.
I read a few of the Christian blogs and honestly found it very tiring to read because of all the references to scripture and the incessant quoting of said scriptures from the Bible.  It is not very impressive, to me at least, to continue to quote and reference a book over and over and over again. Where is the original thought?
I do hope this will open people’s hearts and minds to other faiths, beliefs, and religions.  We are a world of many.  Our country is a country of many and that many have the freedom to believe as we want without prosecution from any one group or person.
Blessed Be!
One thought on “What was it all about?

  1. Quality speaks volumes. One of the loosing blogs had comments that said Mrs. B. won because evil is rampant in the world. If I believed in such a thing, I could postulate that it was the evil done to Mrs. B that forced the win. I don’t though. Mrs. B’s blog is thorough and well represents the issues and concerns of pagan parents. As you mentioned, her blogs are original. Regurgi-quoting can only take you so far as a writer. It doesn’t help much that many of these regurgi-quotes are dead wrong thanks to King James. This competition led me to find blogs I never would have located otherwise and for that I am grateful. Congrats to all the winners but especially the ones who won on the basis of quality instead of popularity. Kudos pretty pagan ladies. )O(

Leave a Reply

